Galileo Zeitung/Katalog Music from Norway



Zahlen Sie bequem und sicher per
  • SEPA Direct Debit (only available for EU bank accounts)
  • Reembursement
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Payment in advance by bank transfer
   Home   |   Contact   |   About us   |   Jobs   |   Tiendas   |   Basket

   Wu Fei: A Distant Youth
Price: 18.95 €
Cat-Nr.: FHAG03
Format: CD
1 Copies in stock. Possible shipping date for Germany: 25.11.2014

VÖ Datum: 09.11.07
 Write your opinion about this CD

Wu Fei (Guzheng & Vocals) – Carla Kihlstedt (Violin) – Fred Frith (Acoustic & Electric Guitars) – Helge A. Norbakken (Percussions on Hunan)

Wu Fei was born and raised in Beijing, China. She began her traditional Chinese music and western classical music training at age 6. She attended the China National Symphony Girls´ Choir between ages 8 to 13. During her last years in the choir, Wu Fei started to focus on composition. Then she was accepted into the High School of the China Conservatory of Music in Beijing where she majored in Music Composition throughout her six years of study there including 3 years in the college. During that time, Wu Fei studied with composers/professors/conductors Yang Qing, Li Xi An, Gao Wei Jie, Luo Zhong Rong and Chu Chi Ji. Her compositions, at this time, were influenced primarily by impressionism and post romanticism. In China, her works were performed by the Hua Xia Chinese Chamber Ensemble, China Conservatory Chamber Ensemble and The Central Broadcasting Youth Choir.

In 2000, Wu Fei transferred to the University of North Texas to continue her studies in composition under Dr. Phil Winsor. During Music 2001 (a composition festival at the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music), she studied with Frederic Rzewski. From 2002-2004, she did her graduate school, and studied composition/improvisation with Joelle Leandre, Alvin Curran and Fred Frith at Mills College in Oakland, CA. While at Mills, she worked with and was exposed to such great musicians/performers as Cecil Taylor, William Winant, Annie Gosfield, Meredith Monk, Carla Kihlstedt, Kazue Sawai and Pauline Oliveros. She was in the Mills College Gamelan Ensemble for 2 years working with the great I Nyoman Windha of Bali. Since residing in Boulder, CO, Wu Fei has been continuously active in the contemporary world music scene. She has collaborated with Janet Feder, Colin Bricker and Greg Harris in the Denver/Boulder area. In 2005, Wu Fei performed at The Stone in NYC with Carla Kihlstedt, Ikue Mori, Sylvie Courvoisier, and Kiku Day. Since the summer of 2006, Wu Fei has started a series of collaborations and projects in Europe, including a new composition for Percussions Claviers de Lyon, and concerts and festivals in Italy, where she performed with Guo Yue, Beppe Gambetta, Patrizia Laquidara etc.

She is now working on a solo album with producer Giovanni Amighetti, presenting her original guzheng/vocal compositions and improvisations. The album is a marriage of the artist’s traditional Chinese music roots and contemporary compositional approach. Recording began this past June, and the album is scheduled for international release in May 2007. The album will also feature the amazing talents of music legends Guo Yue, Joji Helge Norbakken, Fred Frith, Carla Kihlstedt, and others. She also worked on Shan Qi video dvd.

Wu Fei has composed music for solo instruments, string quartets, choirs, orchestras, modern and traditional dance, film, and various chamber ensembles. Her compositions have been performed in cities as varied as London, Taipei, Beijing, Cincinatti, Dallas, San Francisco, and Oakland. She has also given solo and group performances in China, Dallas, Cincinnati, New York City, Denver/Boulder, the San Francisco Bay Area, and Europe. She is on Fred Frith´s newest album of film music entitled "Eye to Ear II", Wu Fei co-composed some of the pieces with Frith and contributed her unique guzheng element to the entire album (see "The Wire", April 2004.)

CD 1
1  Cloud of Birds  
2  Chun Song  
3  Yu Zhou Chang Wan  
4  Ping Tan  
5  Diao Chan  
6  Hunan  
7  Summer Palace  
8  Three Kingdoms  
9  Dawn  
10  Qu Qur  
11  Feng Huo Tai  
12  Wu Yin  
13  Little Open Hands  
14  For Yuxi  
15  Nothingness  
16  Mad Season  
17  Mukamu  
18  Breakaway  

Galileo MC - Dachauer Str. 5-7 - 82256 Fürstenfeldbruck
Tel: 08141 226 130 - Fax: 08141 226 133 - Email: